Alabama Opportunity Zones

Opportunity Zones

Alabama partially conforms with the federal tax code around taxation of capital gains, following the provisions in Section 1400Z-2 of the IRC.

Alabama has designated 158 Qualified Opportunity Zones, which is 38 more than the United States median of 120, and 5 more than the United States average of 153. These zones are located in 67 different counties, out of a possible 67 total counties that exist within the state. Opportunity Funds can invest in 100% of the counties in Alabama.

Jefferson County houses the largest number of zones within the state at 27, which is 13 higher than the next most represented county in the state.